Inverell’s Best Bed & Breakfast

Testimonials

"Stately Manor" Reviewed June 2017

We spent a weekend at Blair Athol Estate as part of a large contingent of family and friends celebrating a significant birthday. Our friends had booked the whole venue for us and their family. The hosts Kim and Pauline were fantastic; they treated us like family, catered to every need. The food was extraordinary. Kim catered our breakfasts and the huge birthday dinner; no one went away hungry. Kim had no problem dealing with my gluten issues and was very happy to accommodate my dietary needs. The bedrooms were plush, the view from the windows breathtaking. And for those who are into that sort of thing, they now have a day spa on site. The town Inverell is a short drive; but really you could just spend your day walking the grounds and enjoying the hospitality of this grand old house. Ian E

"Enjoyable Two Night Stay" May 2017

On seeing Blair Athol for the first time you get the sense that you have gone back in time. The surroundings are beautiful, peaceful and quiet. On arrival you get the warmest welcome from Kim. The ceilings in this beautiful house are magnificent and need to be seen. We spent a wonderful afternoon at the day spa. This is a world class facility. We will defiantly be going back again.  Sharlene W.

"Step back in time" April 2017

This is a magnificent mansion, beautifully and painstakingly decorated. Quiet and peaceful, the grounds are beautiful, and Kim, the host, is delightful, followed around by her chickens and dogs as she goes about her daily routine. Just a great place to stay. Ken T.

“Ideal retreat” Reviewed 8 February 2015

Our corporate retreat was held at Blair Athol this weekend and I was delighted with excellent standard of the venue for our corporate activities, meals and accommodation. An added bonus is the idyllic country setting and old world charm of an early country manor. Kim is an amazing host - knowing all our names from the start (13 of us for the retreat with 8 accommodated) and adapting around our group's needs (sessions ran overtime with mealtimes rearranged). The food selection and quality were of an excellent standard (might need to go on a diet now!). In the past I stayed at Blair Athol when travelling on business as it much more preferable than a motel in town (only a few kms away) - friendly, peaceful and private.
Thanks Kim for looking after us so completely.

“’A beautiful place to stay’” Reviewed 27 June 2014
From the moment I walked into Blair Athol I felt I had slipped back in time. Kim is a wonderful hostess, the accommodation is of a very high standard, very clean and more than comfortable. Kim cooked us a superb dinner, and we had the lovely pleasure of sharing it with other guests. It was a lovely evening with great food, nice wine and fantastic company. I would highly recommend a stay at Blair Athol. It was a unique experience. Thank you Kim for sharing your home with my friends and me, and for making us all feel so very welcome. 
Room Tip: I stayed in the Emerald Room. The bed is so comfortable! 
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends value 
Sandy S

“A delightful experience” Reviewed 14 June 2014
If you are wanting to enjoy a country style B&B experience, Blair Athol Estate should be on your wish list. I had heard about this place and had wanted to stay but had never found the opportunity. It was worth the wait, but I don’t want to wait as long until next time we stay. The place has so much atmosphere and it was so interesting to hear stories about the place from Kim who takes great pride in this lovely facility. Staying at Blair Athol is an experience, not just somewhere to rest your head over night. This place is not just about the historic country mansion with its beautiful rooms. It is about the whole property which is just lovely to walk around to delight in the whole country feel of horses, dogs, very old trees and gardens. The sherry and the scrumptious chocolate brownies provided were a lovely touch. The wonderful service is the icing on the cake. We really enjoyed relaxing in one of the guest sitting rooms chatting with other guests and then enjoying a delicious and beautifully presented dinner afterwards. Breakfast allowed for choice and was very well provided and presented. One thing we liked about the breakfast was that Kim advertises breakfast prices separately so that if you want to opt out of breakfast because you are leaving early you don’t feel you have paid for something you don’t get. However I recommend you take the time for breakfast as it is well worth it. A sitting room was attached to our bedroom and bathroom, and we felt most comfortable. We congratulate Kim on achieving a lovely B&B atmosphere and at the same time maintaining the style that this property deserves.
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple 
BribieLiz

“Wonderful country B&B and the best breakfasts!!!” Reviewed 1 June 2014
Quirky and elegant historic country mansion in the New England of Northern Inland NSW, set amongst old world gardens and eucalypts. Nice and quiet, very reasonably priced, very comfortable beds, great showers, complimentary sherry, antique fittings and finishes, friendly dogs and chooks and cooked breakfasts to die for! Customer service is second to none with the proprietor Kim the most accommodating B&B operator we have come across. Nothing is too much trouble and our short stay was very enjoyable. This is a great base to explore the sapphire town of Inverell, Copeton Dam (7 times the size of Sydney harbour when full!) and surrounds. We will be back soon! We understand Kim caters for dinner parties with accommodation, which would be a great way to catch up with friends and have a great dinner party in comfortable surroundings with great conversations! Blair Athol Estate is the epitome of country Australian hospitality,, which one does not often find any longer these days….Inverell’s best kept secret! Room Tip: We had a room with sitting room attached which was great for relaxing prior to going out to a function.
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Peter S

“A must stay when visiting this area” Reviewed 3 March 2014
We had a great stay, the room and service was excellent, clean, friendly. You can have a choice of a full cold and cooked breakfast for $20/person which is great value and highly recommended. There is plenty to do from walking in the extensive gardens to interacting with the animals, dogs, cats, horse and hens. All are very friendly. There is a tennis court. The charm and character of the house are to die for. It is beautifully restored. The charm captivates you in an instant and transfers you to another era, where warmth and the beauty of timber, leather and paintings are everywhere.

The hosts are delightful, and will cater to your every need. This is a premium location and a must-do if you are in the area. I promise you will be so pleased you stayed even for a night, but I recommend a few nights as we did. There is a short taxi ride to town where there are some great country pubs to choose from.

So if you are in the area, I recommend you make a detour and head to Blair Athol. This is one of the very best places we have ever stayed in. Room Tip: all rooms have that special charm and its really hard to choose a special one.
Keith G

“Who needs Downton Abbey when you have Blair Athol!” Reviewed 16 June 2015

On a recent trip to Inverell (NSW) we had the pleasure of staying at Blair Athol Estate where were greeted by our lovely host Kim and her four legged companions. Visiting from Sydney, Blair Athol was an ideal location to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, take a deep breath of country air and rejuvenate. Not only was our host wonderful, she was a fantastic cook providing delicious meals for us to enjoy whilst we sat in front of the fire and relaxed. I will never forget the banana split with salted caramel and homemade ice cream – Yummo!! Our walks around the property were also chaperoned by four of Kim’s beautiful dogs who were great company and loved to play fetch…well one did, the others joined in for fun. 

If you are looking for a country get away with style, ambience and historical luxury (ok it just like Downton Abbey) Blair Athol Estate is the place to go. We can’t wait to go back.

Sebastian C.

In The Press
As would be expected, a property as unique and outstanding as BLAIR ATHOL ESTATE has received many visits from both journalists and “lifestyle” television programmes, for example  "Farmer Wants a Wife", "Sydney Weekender".  Magazines such as “Country Style,” “Australian Country Collections” and specific tourism publications, along with “The Sydney Morning Herald” Travel section have featured, and to some extent, charted, the ongoing stages of the life of this historic treasure.

Blair Athol Estate is a photographer's dream and has been used many times for a location and backdrop.

Newspaper cutting
Newspaper cutting
Newspaper cutting